I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Rivals of Versailles: A Novel by Sally ChristieThe Rivals of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie
Series: The Mistresses of Versailles #2
Published by Atria Books
Published on: April 5, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Historical
Pages: 448
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo | Buy on iBooks
Rating:
Also in this series: The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel
Also by this author: The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel

About the Book

And you thought sisters were a thing to fear. In this captivating follow-up to Sally Christie’s clever and absorbing debut, we meet none other than the Marquise de Pompadour, one of the greatest beauties of her generation and the first bourgeois mistress ever to grace the hallowed halls of Versailles.

The year is 1745 and King Louis XV’s bed is once again empty. Enter Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson, a beautiful girl from the middle classes. As a child, a fortune teller had told young Jeanne’s destiny: she would become the lover of a king and the most powerful woman in the land. Eventually connections, luck, and a little scheming pave her way to Versailles and into the King’s arms.

All too soon, conniving politicians and hopeful beauties seek to replace the bourgeois interloper with a more suitable mistress. As Jeanne, now the Marquise de Pompadour, takes on her many rivals—including a lustful lady-in-waiting, a precocious fourteen-year-old prostitute, and even a cousin of the notorious Nesle sisters—she helps the king give himself over to a life of luxury and depravity. Around them, war rages, discontent grows, and France inches ever closer to the Revolution.

Told in Christie's celebrated witty and modern style, The Rivals of Versailles will delight and entrance fans as it brings to life the court of Louis XV in all its pride, pestilence, and glory.

 

View Post

Share:

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally ChristieThe Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie
Series: The Mistresses of Versailles #1
Published by Atria Books
Published on: September 1, 2015
Genres: Fiction, Historical
Pages: 432
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:
Also in this series: The Rivals of Versailles: A Novel
Also by this author: The Rivals of Versailles: A Novel

About the Book

Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear.

Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best feet—and women—forward. The King’s scheming ministers push sweet, naïve Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, she and three of her younger sisters—ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne—will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power as each becomes the king’s favorite for a time.

In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie’s stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood—of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.

View Post

Share:

I received this book for free from From the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BOOKS | Darktown: A Novel by Thomas MullenDarktown: A Novel by Thomas Mullen
Published by Atria Books, 37 Ink
Published on: September 13, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Mystery & Detective
Pages: 384
Format: ARC
Source: From the Publisher
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:

About the Book

Responding to orders from on high, the Atlanta Police Department is forced to hire its first black officers, including war veterans Lucius Boggs and Tommy Smith. The newly minted policemen are met with deep hostility by their white peers; they aren’t allowed to arrest white suspects, drive squad cars, or set foot in the police headquarters.

When a black woman who was last seen in a car driven by a white man turns up dead, Boggs and Smith suspect white cops are behind it. Their investigation sets them up against a brutal cop, Dunlow, who has long run the neighborhood as his own, and his partner, Rakestraw, a young progressive who may or may not be willing to make allies across color lines. Among shady moonshiners, duplicitous madams, crooked lawmen, and the constant restrictions of Jim Crow, Boggs and Smith will risk their new jobs, and their lives, while navigating a dangerous world—a world on the cusp of great change.

Set in the postwar, pre-civil rights South, and evoking the socially resonant and morally complex crime novels of Dennis Lehane and Walter Mosley, Darktown is a vivid, smart, intricately plotted crime saga that explores the timely issues of race, law enforcement, and the uneven scales of justice.

View Post

Share:

 

Reading List - April 2016

It’s been a pretty good month for me in terms of reading.  I was able to tackle five books once again, but unfortunately two of them didn’t really do it for me and as a result I didn’t finish them.  But even then, I’m still pretty happy to be back reading with some regularity once again.  Fingers crossed that I can keep this up in the months to come.  So let’s check out my Reading List for April 2016!

View Post

Share:

I received this book for free from From the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BOOKS | He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. TuckerHe Will Be My Ruin: A Novel by K.A. Tucker
Published by Atria Books
Published on: February 2, 2016
Pages: 352
Format: ARC
Source: From the Publisher
Rating:
Also by this author: Ten Tiny Breaths: A Novel

About the Book

A woman who almost had it all . . .

On the surface, Celine Gonzalez had everything a twenty-eight-year-old woman could want: a one-bedroom apartment on Manhattan’s Lower East Side, a job that (mostly) paid the bills, and an acceptance letter to the prestigious Hollingsworth Institute of Art, where she would finally live out her dream of becoming an antiques appraiser for a major auction house. All she had worked so hard to achieve was finally within her reach. So why would she kill herself?

A man who was supposed to be her salvation . . .

Maggie Sparkes arrives in New York City to pack up what’s left of her best friend’s belongings after a suicide that has left everyone stunned. The police have deemed the evidence conclusive: Celine got into bed, downed a lethal cocktail of pills and vodka, and never woke up. But when Maggie discovers a scandalous photograph in a lock box hidden in Celine’s apartment, she begins asking questions. Questions about the man Celine fell in love with. The man she never told anyone about, not even Maggie. The man Celine believed would change her life.

Until he became her ruin.

On the hunt for evidence that will force the police to reopen the case, Maggie uncovers more than she bargained for about Celine’s private life—and inadvertently puts herself on the radar of a killer. A killer who will stop at nothing to keep his crimes undiscovered.

View Post

Share: