Archives

Books

Crazy Rich Asians: A Novel by Kevin Kwan | Review

I received this book for free from From the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Crazy Rich Asians: A Novel by Kevin Kwan | ReviewCrazy Rich Asians: A Novel by Kevin Kwan
Series: Crazy Rich Asians #1
Published by Doubleday
Published on: June 11, 2013
Genres: Fiction, Asian American
Pages: 416
Format: Audiobook
Narrator: Lynn Chen
Length: 13 hours 53 minutes
Source: From the Publisher
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo | Buy on iBooks
Rating:

About the Book

Crazy Rich Asians is the outrageously funny debut novel about three super-rich, pedigreed Chinese families and the gossip, backbiting, and scheming that occurs when the heir to one of the most massive fortunes in Asia brings home his ABC (American-born Chinese) girlfriend to the wedding of the season.

When Rachel Chu agrees to spend the summer in Singapore with her boyfriend, Nicholas Young, she envisions a humble family home, long drives to explore the island, and quality time with the man she might one day marry. What she doesn't know is that Nick's family home happens to look like a palace, that she'll ride in more private planes than cars, and that with one of Asia's most eligible bachelors on her arm, Rachel might as well have a target on her back.

Initiated into a world of dynastic splendor beyond imagination, Rachel meets Astrid, the It Girl of Singapore society; Eddie, whose family practically lives in the pages of the Hong Kong socialite magazines; and Eleanor, Nick's formidable mother, a woman who has very strong feelings about who her son should--and should not--marry.

Uproarious, addictive, and filled with jaw-dropping opulence, Crazy Rich Asians is an insider's look at the Asian JetSet; a perfect depiction of the clash between old money and new money; between Overseas Chinese and Mainland Chinese; and a fabulous novel about what it means to be young, in love, and gloriously, crazily rich.

Read More

Books

BOOKS | Reading List – April 2016

 

Reading List - April 2016

It’s been a pretty good month for me in terms of reading.  I was able to tackle five books once again, but unfortunately two of them didn’t really do it for me and as a result I didn’t finish them.  But even then, I’m still pretty happy to be back reading with some regularity once again.  Fingers crossed that I can keep this up in the months to come.  So let’s check out my Reading List for April 2016!

Read More

Books

BOOKS | Reading List – March 2016

Reading List - March 2016Reading List – March 2016

If I’m being honest with myself, and I always try to be honest with myself, while I still love reading, I don’t love doing long and detailed reviews.  It’s always such a struggle for me to try to not reveal spoilers in the book, because I read a lot of books that haven’t been published yet.  Sometimes, that leaves my reviews feeling very disjointed…at least they do to me.  So here’s the deal, I don’t want to abandon reviewing books on the whole, because I love books, and I love talking about them.  So I’m doing something different and giving you mini reviews of books I’ve read during the month.  So without further ado, let’s check out my Reading List for March 2016!

Read More

Books

BOOKS | Find Her: A Novel by Lisa Gardner

BOOKS | Find Her: A Novel by Lisa GardnerFind Her: A Novel by Lisa Gardner
Series: Detective D.D. Warren #8
Published by Dutton
Published on: February 9, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Thriller & Suspense
Pages: 416
Format: Audiobook
Source: Personal Copy
Rating:

About the Book

Flora Dane is a victim.

Seven years ago, carefree college student Flora was kidnapped while on spring break. For 472 days, Flora learned just how much one person can endure.

Flora Dane is a survivor.

Miraculously alive after her ordeal, Flora has spent the past five years reacquainting herself with the rhythms of normal life, working with her FBI victim advocate, Samuel Keynes. She has a mother who’s never stopped loving her, a brother who is scared of the person she’s become, and a bedroom wall covered with photos of other girls who’ve never made it home.

Flora Dane is reckless.

…or is she? When Boston detective D. D. Warren is called to the scene of a crime—a dead man and the bound, naked woman who killed him—she learns that Flora has tangled with three other suspects since her return to society. Is Flora a victim or a vigilante? And with her firsthand knowledge of criminal behavior, could she hold the key to rescuing a missing college student whose abduction has rocked Boston? When Flora herself disappears, D.D. realizes a far more sinister predator is out there. One who’s determined that this time, Flora Dane will never escape. And now it is all up to D. D. Warren to find her.

Read More

Books

Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mount Everest Disaster by Jon Krakauer | #BookReview

Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mount Everest Disaster by Jon Krakauer | #BookReviewInto Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mount Everest Disaster by Jon Krakauer
Published by Villard
Published on: April 22, 1997
Genres: Non-Fiction
Pages: 228
Format: Audiobook
Source: Personal Copy
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:

About the Book

When Jon Krakauer reached the summit of Mt. Everest in the early afternoon of May 10, 1996, he hadn't slept in fifty-seven hours and was reeling from the brain-altering effects of oxygen depletion. As he turned to begin his long, dangerous descent from 29,028 feet, twenty other climbers were still pushing doggedly toward the top. No one had noticed that the sky had begun to fill with clouds. Six hours later and 3,000 feet lower, in 70-knot winds and blinding snow, Krakauer collapsed in his tent, freezing, hallucinating from exhaustion and hypoxia, but safe. The following morning, he learned that six of his fellow climbers hadn't made it back to their camp and were desperately struggling for their lives. When the storm finally passed, five of them would be dead, and the sixth so horribly frostbitten that his right hand would have to be amputated.

Into Thin Air is the definitive account of the deadliest season in the history of Everest by the acclaimed journalist and author of the bestseller Into the Wild. On assignment for Outside Magazine to report on the growing commercialization of the mountain, Krakauer, an accomplished climber, went to the Himalayas as a client of Rob Hall, the most respected high-altitude guide in the world. A rangy, thirty-five-year-old New Zealander, Hall had summited Everest four times between 1990 and 1995 and had led thirty-nine climbers to the top. Ascending the mountain in close proximity to Hall's team was a guided expedition led by Scott Fischer, a forty-year-old American with legendary strength and drive who had climbed the peak without supplemental oxygen in 1994. But neither Hall nor Fischer survived the rogue storm that struck in May 1996.

Krakauer examines what it is about Everest that has compelled so many people -- including himself -- to throw caution to the wind, ignore the concerns of loved ones, and willingly subject themselves to such risk, hardship, and expense. Written with emotional clarity and supported by his unimpeachable reporting, Krakauer's eyewitness account of what happened on the roof of the world is a singular achievement.

Read More