Archives

Books

The Rivals of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Rivals of Versailles: A Novel by Sally ChristieThe Rivals of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie
Series: The Mistresses of Versailles #2
Published by Atria Books
Published on: April 5, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Historical
Pages: 448
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo | Buy on iBooks
Rating:
Also in this series: The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel
Also by this author: The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel

About the Book

And you thought sisters were a thing to fear. In this captivating follow-up to Sally Christie’s clever and absorbing debut, we meet none other than the Marquise de Pompadour, one of the greatest beauties of her generation and the first bourgeois mistress ever to grace the hallowed halls of Versailles.

The year is 1745 and King Louis XV’s bed is once again empty. Enter Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson, a beautiful girl from the middle classes. As a child, a fortune teller had told young Jeanne’s destiny: she would become the lover of a king and the most powerful woman in the land. Eventually connections, luck, and a little scheming pave her way to Versailles and into the King’s arms.

All too soon, conniving politicians and hopeful beauties seek to replace the bourgeois interloper with a more suitable mistress. As Jeanne, now the Marquise de Pompadour, takes on her many rivals—including a lustful lady-in-waiting, a precocious fourteen-year-old prostitute, and even a cousin of the notorious Nesle sisters—she helps the king give himself over to a life of luxury and depravity. Around them, war rages, discontent grows, and France inches ever closer to the Revolution.

Told in Christie's celebrated witty and modern style, The Rivals of Versailles will delight and entrance fans as it brings to life the court of Louis XV in all its pride, pestilence, and glory.

 

Read More

Books

Dreamland Burning by Jennifer Latham

I received this book for free from From the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Dreamland Burning by Jennifer LathamDreamland Burning by Jennifer Latham
Published on: February 21, 2017
Genres: Fiction, Young Adult, Mysteries & Detective Stories
Pages: 384
Format: ARC
Source: From the Publisher
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:

About the Book

A compelling dual-narrated tale from Jennifer Latham that asks the question - how far have we really come with race relations in the last 100 years?

Some bodies won't stay buried.
Some stories need to be told.

When seventeen-year-old Rowan Chase finds a skeleton on her family's property, she has no idea that investigating the brutal century-old murder will lead to a summer of painful discoveries about the past... and the present.

Nearly one hundred years earlier, a misguided violent encounter propels seventeen-year-old Will Tillman into a racial firestorm. In a country rife with violence against blacks and a hometown segregated by Jim Crow, Will must make hard choices on a painful journey towards self discovery and face his inner demons in order to do what's right the night Tulsa burns.

Through intricately interwoven alternating perspectives, Jennifer Latham's lightning-paced page-turner brings the Tulsa race riot of 1921 to blazing life and raises important question about the complex state of US race relations - both yesterday and today.

Read More

Books

The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally ChristieThe Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie
Series: The Mistresses of Versailles #1
Published by Atria Books
Published on: September 1, 2015
Genres: Fiction, Historical
Pages: 432
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:
Also in this series: The Rivals of Versailles: A Novel
Also by this author: The Rivals of Versailles: A Novel

About the Book

Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear.

Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best feet—and women—forward. The King’s scheming ministers push sweet, naïve Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, she and three of her younger sisters—ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne—will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power as each becomes the king’s favorite for a time.

In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie’s stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood—of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.

Read More

Books

BOOKS | Darktown: A Novel by Thomas Mullen

I received this book for free from From the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BOOKS | Darktown: A Novel by Thomas MullenDarktown: A Novel by Thomas Mullen
Published by Atria Books, 37 Ink
Published on: September 13, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Mystery & Detective
Pages: 384
Format: ARC
Source: From the Publisher
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:

About the Book

Responding to orders from on high, the Atlanta Police Department is forced to hire its first black officers, including war veterans Lucius Boggs and Tommy Smith. The newly minted policemen are met with deep hostility by their white peers; they aren’t allowed to arrest white suspects, drive squad cars, or set foot in the police headquarters.

When a black woman who was last seen in a car driven by a white man turns up dead, Boggs and Smith suspect white cops are behind it. Their investigation sets them up against a brutal cop, Dunlow, who has long run the neighborhood as his own, and his partner, Rakestraw, a young progressive who may or may not be willing to make allies across color lines. Among shady moonshiners, duplicitous madams, crooked lawmen, and the constant restrictions of Jim Crow, Boggs and Smith will risk their new jobs, and their lives, while navigating a dangerous world—a world on the cusp of great change.

Set in the postwar, pre-civil rights South, and evoking the socially resonant and morally complex crime novels of Dennis Lehane and Walter Mosley, Darktown is a vivid, smart, intricately plotted crime saga that explores the timely issues of race, law enforcement, and the uneven scales of justice.

Read More

Books

BOOKS | Reading List – April 2016

 

Reading List - April 2016

It’s been a pretty good month for me in terms of reading.  I was able to tackle five books once again, but unfortunately two of them didn’t really do it for me and as a result I didn’t finish them.  But even then, I’m still pretty happy to be back reading with some regularity once again.  Fingers crossed that I can keep this up in the months to come.  So let’s check out my Reading List for April 2016!

Read More