I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally ChristieThe Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie
Series: The Mistresses of Versailles #1
Published by Atria Books
Published on: September 1, 2015
Genres: Fiction, Historical
Pages: 432
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:
Also in this series: The Rivals of Versailles: A Novel
Also by this author: The Rivals of Versailles: A Novel

About the Book

Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear.

Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best feet—and women—forward. The King’s scheming ministers push sweet, naïve Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, she and three of her younger sisters—ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne—will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power as each becomes the king’s favorite for a time.

In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie’s stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood—of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.

View Post

Share:

Introducing NIOD Skincare

Introducing NIOD Skincare.  Now NIOD isn’t really a new brand and have been around for a few years now.  But they are new to me and to the blog.  NIOD stands for Non Invasive Options in Dermal Science, and is one of the brands made by DECIEM – The Abnormal Beauty Company.  There are currently 18 different products in the NIOD line, with 3 of those being a part of the ‘core regimen’ and the rest falling into the ‘support regimen’ and the ‘Yešti’ line.  While I’ve being eyeing NIOD products for a while now, I’ve been a little intimidated to try them out.  But as part of the DECIEM Black Friday deals that I just couldn’t pass up, I managed to get my hands on a few NIOD products to test out. View Post

Share:

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Beauty, Brains + Rating

Synopsis
Jyn Erso, a Rebellion soldier and criminal, is about to experience her biggest challenge yet when Mon Mothma sets her out on a mission to steal the plans for the Death Star. With help from the Rebels, a master swordsman, and non-allied forces, Jyn will be in for something bigger than she thinks. ~IMDb

Movie CertificationPG 13 Rating 

View Post

Share:

Sudio VASA BLÅ Wireless Earphones

Now it has been sometime since I was well and truly excited about a product.  Maybe being a blogger has made me a bit jaded or maybe it’s just my natural cynicism.  Well whatever it is, there hasn’t really been a product that made me sit up and take notice; until now that is.  Allow me to introduce you to the Sudio VASA BLÅ Wireless Earphones. View Post

Share:

DAVIDsTEA 24 Days of Tea Day 5 Coffee Cake

Welcome to Day 5 of the DAVIDsTEA #24DaysofTea event.  Now I wasn’t sure what to expect when I opened up the advent calendar and discovered the DAVIDsTEA Coffee Cake Tea.  I’m not a huge fan of coffee or cake, so while I do love black tea, I wasn’t sure how this was all going to mesh together.  Well first off, I got a coupon for $5 off my next purchase so that is working out well so far.  But then I went ahead and cracked this one open and good lord does the DAVIDsTEA Coffee Cake Tea ever smell like the greatest thing ever.  It smells so good that people at work can usually track my location and route through the office just by scent alone. View Post

Share: