Beauty

Yves Saint Laurent | The Street and I Collection Information | Spring 2017

Yves Saint Laurent | The Street and I Collection Information | Spring 2017

I can’t believe that it’s time to start talking about Spring 2017, at least in terms of beauty that is.  Up first is The Street and I Collection for Spring 2017 from none other than Yves Saint Laurent.  This campaign is fronted by none other than Staz Lindes and the collection itself is young, hip and edgy.  While I am probably not going to pick up the entire collection, I will more than likely pick up a few things.  I love YSL, and their limited edition packaging is always to die for.    Plus, I’m digging all of the orange to be found in the The Street and I Collection! Read More

Books

The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally ChristieThe Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie
Series: The Mistresses of Versailles #1
Published by Atria Books
Published on: September 1, 2015
Genres: Fiction, Historical
Pages: 432
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:

About the Book

Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear.

Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best feet—and women—forward. The King’s scheming ministers push sweet, naïve Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, she and three of her younger sisters—ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne—will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power as each becomes the king’s favorite for a time.

In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie’s stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood—of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.

Read More

Beauty

Introducing NIOD Skincare

Introducing NIOD Skincare

Introducing NIOD Skincare.  Now NIOD isn’t really a new brand and have been around for a few years now.  But they are new to me and to the blog.  NIOD stands for Non Invasive Options in Dermal Science, and is one of the brands made by DECIEM – The Abnormal Beauty Company.  There are currently 18 different products in the NIOD line, with 3 of those being a part of the ‘core regimen’ and the rest falling into the ‘support regimen’ and the ‘Yešti’ line.  While I’ve being eyeing NIOD products for a while now, I’ve been a little intimidated to try them out.  But as part of the DECIEM Black Friday deals that I just couldn’t pass up, I managed to get my hands on a few NIOD products to test out. Read More

Movies & TV

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story [2016]

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Beauty, Brains + Rating

Synopsis
Jyn Erso, a Rebellion soldier and criminal, is about to experience her biggest challenge yet when Mon Mothma sets her out on a mission to steal the plans for the Death Star. With help from the Rebels, a master swordsman, and non-allied forces, Jyn will be in for something bigger than she thinks. ~IMDb

Movie CertificationPG 13 Rating 

Read More