Browsing Category

Books

Books

Dreamland Burning by Jennifer Latham

I received this book for free from From the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Dreamland Burning by Jennifer LathamDreamland Burning by Jennifer Latham
Published on: February 21, 2017
Genres: Fiction, Young Adult, Mysteries & Detective Stories
Pages: 384
Format: ARC
Source: From the Publisher
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:

About the Book

A compelling dual-narrated tale from Jennifer Latham that asks the question - how far have we really come with race relations in the last 100 years?

Some bodies won't stay buried.
Some stories need to be told.

When seventeen-year-old Rowan Chase finds a skeleton on her family's property, she has no idea that investigating the brutal century-old murder will lead to a summer of painful discoveries about the past... and the present.

Nearly one hundred years earlier, a misguided violent encounter propels seventeen-year-old Will Tillman into a racial firestorm. In a country rife with violence against blacks and a hometown segregated by Jim Crow, Will must make hard choices on a painful journey towards self discovery and face his inner demons in order to do what's right the night Tulsa burns.

Through intricately interwoven alternating perspectives, Jennifer Latham's lightning-paced page-turner brings the Tulsa race riot of 1921 to blazing life and raises important question about the complex state of US race relations - both yesterday and today.

Read More

Books

The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally ChristieThe Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie
Series: The Mistresses of Versailles #1
Published by Atria Books
Published on: September 1, 2015
Genres: Fiction, Historical
Pages: 432
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:

About the Book

Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear.

Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best feet—and women—forward. The King’s scheming ministers push sweet, naïve Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, she and three of her younger sisters—ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne—will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power as each becomes the king’s favorite for a time.

In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie’s stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood—of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.

Read More

Books

Turning Angel by Greg Iles

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Turning Angel by Greg IlesTurning Angel by Greg Iles
Series: Penn Cage #2
Published by Pocket Books
Published on: November 21, 2006
Genres: Fiction, Thriller, Legal
Pages: 672
Format: Paperback
Source: Personal Copy
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:
Also in this series: The Quiet Game

About the Book

After winning the most dangerous case of his career, prosecutor Penn Cage decides to remain in his Southern hometown to raise his young daughter in a safe haven. But nowhere is truly safe -- not from long-buried secrets, or murder....When the nude body of prep school student Kate Townsend is found near the Mississippi River, Penn's best friend, Drew Elliott, is desperate for his counsel. An esteemed family physician, Drew makes a shocking confession that could put him on death row. Penn will do all he can to exonerate Drew, but in a town where the gaze of a landmark cemetery statue -- the Turning Angel -- never looks away, Penn finds himself caught on the jagged edge of blackmail, betrayal, and deadly violence.

Read More

Books

The Quiet Game by Greg Iles

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
The Quiet Game by Greg IlesThe Quiet Game by Greg Iles
Series: Penn Cage #1
Published by Signet
Published on: July 1, 2000
Genres: Fiction, Thriller, Legal
Pages: 640
Format: Paperback
Source: Personal Copy
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:
Also in this series: Turning Angel

About the Book

Natchez, Mississippi. Jewel of the South. City of old money and older sins. And childhood home of Houston prosecutor Penn Cage.

In the aftermath of a personal tragedy, this is where Penn has returned for solitude. This is where he hopes to find peace. What he discovers instead is his own family trapped in a mystery buried for thirty years but never forgotten—the town’s darkest secret, now set to trap and destroy Penn as well.

Read More

Books

BOOKS | Darktown: A Novel by Thomas Mullen

I received this book for free from From the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BOOKS | Darktown: A Novel by Thomas MullenDarktown: A Novel by Thomas Mullen
Published by Atria Books, 37 Ink
Published on: September 13, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Mystery & Detective
Pages: 384
Format: ARC
Source: From the Publisher
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:

About the Book

Responding to orders from on high, the Atlanta Police Department is forced to hire its first black officers, including war veterans Lucius Boggs and Tommy Smith. The newly minted policemen are met with deep hostility by their white peers; they aren’t allowed to arrest white suspects, drive squad cars, or set foot in the police headquarters.

When a black woman who was last seen in a car driven by a white man turns up dead, Boggs and Smith suspect white cops are behind it. Their investigation sets them up against a brutal cop, Dunlow, who has long run the neighborhood as his own, and his partner, Rakestraw, a young progressive who may or may not be willing to make allies across color lines. Among shady moonshiners, duplicitous madams, crooked lawmen, and the constant restrictions of Jim Crow, Boggs and Smith will risk their new jobs, and their lives, while navigating a dangerous world—a world on the cusp of great change.

Set in the postwar, pre-civil rights South, and evoking the socially resonant and morally complex crime novels of Dennis Lehane and Walter Mosley, Darktown is a vivid, smart, intricately plotted crime saga that explores the timely issues of race, law enforcement, and the uneven scales of justice.

Read More