Browsing Category

Books

Books

Crazy Rich Asians: A Novel by Kevin Kwan | Review

I received this book for free from From the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Crazy Rich Asians: A Novel by Kevin Kwan | ReviewCrazy Rich Asians: A Novel by Kevin Kwan
Series: Crazy Rich Asians #1
Published by Doubleday
Published on: June 11, 2013
Genres: Fiction, Asian American
Pages: 416
Format: Audiobook
Narrator: Lynn Chen
Length: 13 hours 53 minutes
Source: From the Publisher
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo | Buy on iBooks
Rating:

About the Book

Crazy Rich Asians is the outrageously funny debut novel about three super-rich, pedigreed Chinese families and the gossip, backbiting, and scheming that occurs when the heir to one of the most massive fortunes in Asia brings home his ABC (American-born Chinese) girlfriend to the wedding of the season.

When Rachel Chu agrees to spend the summer in Singapore with her boyfriend, Nicholas Young, she envisions a humble family home, long drives to explore the island, and quality time with the man she might one day marry. What she doesn't know is that Nick's family home happens to look like a palace, that she'll ride in more private planes than cars, and that with one of Asia's most eligible bachelors on her arm, Rachel might as well have a target on her back.

Initiated into a world of dynastic splendor beyond imagination, Rachel meets Astrid, the It Girl of Singapore society; Eddie, whose family practically lives in the pages of the Hong Kong socialite magazines; and Eleanor, Nick's formidable mother, a woman who has very strong feelings about who her son should--and should not--marry.

Uproarious, addictive, and filled with jaw-dropping opulence, Crazy Rich Asians is an insider's look at the Asian JetSet; a perfect depiction of the clash between old money and new money; between Overseas Chinese and Mainland Chinese; and a fabulous novel about what it means to be young, in love, and gloriously, crazily rich.

Read More

Books

The Rivals of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Rivals of Versailles: A Novel by Sally ChristieThe Rivals of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie
Series: The Mistresses of Versailles #2
Published by Atria Books
Published on: April 5, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Historical
Pages: 448
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo | Buy on iBooks
Rating:
Also in this series: The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel
Also by this author: The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel

About the Book

And you thought sisters were a thing to fear. In this captivating follow-up to Sally Christie’s clever and absorbing debut, we meet none other than the Marquise de Pompadour, one of the greatest beauties of her generation and the first bourgeois mistress ever to grace the hallowed halls of Versailles.

The year is 1745 and King Louis XV’s bed is once again empty. Enter Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson, a beautiful girl from the middle classes. As a child, a fortune teller had told young Jeanne’s destiny: she would become the lover of a king and the most powerful woman in the land. Eventually connections, luck, and a little scheming pave her way to Versailles and into the King’s arms.

All too soon, conniving politicians and hopeful beauties seek to replace the bourgeois interloper with a more suitable mistress. As Jeanne, now the Marquise de Pompadour, takes on her many rivals—including a lustful lady-in-waiting, a precocious fourteen-year-old prostitute, and even a cousin of the notorious Nesle sisters—she helps the king give himself over to a life of luxury and depravity. Around them, war rages, discontent grows, and France inches ever closer to the Revolution.

Told in Christie's celebrated witty and modern style, The Rivals of Versailles will delight and entrance fans as it brings to life the court of Louis XV in all its pride, pestilence, and glory.

 

Read More

Books

Dreamland Burning by Jennifer Latham

I received this book for free from From the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Dreamland Burning by Jennifer LathamDreamland Burning by Jennifer Latham
Published on: February 21, 2017
Genres: Fiction, Young Adult, Mysteries & Detective Stories
Pages: 384
Format: ARC
Source: From the Publisher
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:

About the Book

A compelling dual-narrated tale from Jennifer Latham that asks the question - how far have we really come with race relations in the last 100 years?

Some bodies won't stay buried.
Some stories need to be told.

When seventeen-year-old Rowan Chase finds a skeleton on her family's property, she has no idea that investigating the brutal century-old murder will lead to a summer of painful discoveries about the past... and the present.

Nearly one hundred years earlier, a misguided violent encounter propels seventeen-year-old Will Tillman into a racial firestorm. In a country rife with violence against blacks and a hometown segregated by Jim Crow, Will must make hard choices on a painful journey towards self discovery and face his inner demons in order to do what's right the night Tulsa burns.

Through intricately interwoven alternating perspectives, Jennifer Latham's lightning-paced page-turner brings the Tulsa race riot of 1921 to blazing life and raises important question about the complex state of US race relations - both yesterday and today.

Read More

Books

The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally ChristieThe Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie
Series: The Mistresses of Versailles #1
Published by Atria Books
Published on: September 1, 2015
Genres: Fiction, Historical
Pages: 432
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:
Also in this series: The Rivals of Versailles: A Novel
Also by this author: The Rivals of Versailles: A Novel

About the Book

Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear.

Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best feet—and women—forward. The King’s scheming ministers push sweet, naïve Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, she and three of her younger sisters—ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne—will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power as each becomes the king’s favorite for a time.

In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie’s stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood—of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.

Read More

Books

Turning Angel by Greg Iles

Turning Angel by Greg IlesTurning Angel by Greg Iles
Series: Penn Cage #2
Published by Pocket Books
Published on: November 21, 2006
Genres: Fiction, Thriller, Legal
Pages: 672
Format: Paperback
Source: Personal Copy
Buy on Amazon | Buy on Chapters Indigo
Rating:
Also in this series: The Quiet Game
Also by this author: The Quiet Game

About the Book

After winning the most dangerous case of his career, prosecutor Penn Cage decides to remain in his Southern hometown to raise his young daughter in a safe haven. But nowhere is truly safe -- not from long-buried secrets, or murder....When the nude body of prep school student Kate Townsend is found near the Mississippi River, Penn's best friend, Drew Elliott, is desperate for his counsel. An esteemed family physician, Drew makes a shocking confession that could put him on death row. Penn will do all he can to exonerate Drew, but in a town where the gaze of a landmark cemetery statue -- the Turning Angel -- never looks away, Penn finds himself caught on the jagged edge of blackmail, betrayal, and deadly violence.

Read More